Building a Carbon & ESG management SaaS - Episode 2: Data Platform

Building a Carbon & ESG management SaaS - Episode 2: Data Platform

As committed companies align their climate and business strategies, the use of carbon and ESG impact data becomes both increasingly sensitive and essential to enable a controlled transition to new low-impact business models. To best equip these companies, Traace has been designed and developed as a true "Data Platform", with the specificities linked to impact data, but also all the requirements of modern Data Platforms.

Patrick Nollet

Patrick Nollet

Co-founder

31/1/2024

What is a Data Platform?‍

Data Platforms have emerged with the democratization of data usage and the exponential increase in the amount of data generated and processed by companies. Good use of data, whatever the field, has become a strategic advantage. 

Data Platforms enable data to be manipulated throughout its entire lifecycle, and respond to all the issues raised by the fine-tuned use of sensitive data in a competitive business context:

  • Where is the source data? 
  • How do you collect it efficiently? 
  • Where to centralize the data collected? 
  • What data processing should be applied to it to obtain the result or useful information?
  • How to visualize data for analysis?
  • How can we ensure the reliability of data (completeness, accuracy, etc.) in order to make the right decisions or carry out public reporting? 
  • How do you collaborate on a data set?
  • etc.  
ESG Data platform - ESG Data Lifecycle

Why do companies today need real Data Platforms to process carbon and ESG data?

Numerous Data Platforms managing a certain type of data have emerged to meet data processing needs that companies previously covered by combining Excel files with multiple tabs and endless mail loops to collect raw data and collaborate on these Excel files to manipulate and exploit this raw data.

As each of these needs becomes a strategic issue for the company (customer data management, inventory management, project management, etc.) the "Excel + Mail Loops" duo reaches its limits and starts to become a hindrance to good data exploitation: Partial data, calculation errors, high costs of maintaining files and macros, difficulties in historizing data, impossible data security and analysis, etc.

This is exactly what is currently happening with the management of carbon and ESG emissions data. Up until now, most companies have relied on Excel to calculate their carbon footprint or aggregate and manage their ESG data, before eventually reformatting this data for publication in an annual report.

At Traace, for example, we regularly integrate for our new customers the carbon footprint measurements they have carried out in previous years using Excel. When compared with the first measurement we carry out with the platform, we very often find significant calculation errors in the imported Excel files, requiring us to go back over the history of the carbon balancesⓇ in order to enable a usable analysis of the evolution of the carbon measurements. These errors are more often due to data entry or manipulation errors in the Excel files than to errors in the carbon accounting methodology.

This is why the market in which Traace operates, that of SaaS platforms for managing Carbon and ESG data, was born. Today, more and more companies are looking to equip themselves with a solution enabling them to manage their impact data in an advanced way. A solution that is necessarily user-friendly, so as to enable all the company's stakeholders to collaborate, and in particular operational staff who are not experts in climate issues.

A need for software tools reinforced by the entry into force of the CSRD

Beyond simple footprint measurement, mature companies have understood that modeling and piloting decarbonization trajectories by entity, and deploying transition action plans within their organization that enable these trajectories to be maintained, is simply impossible without a suitable tool.

Today, the urgent need for companies to really reduce the carbon emissions of their activities, on the one hand, and the regulatory pressure on them to produce advanced extra-financial reporting on the other, particularly with the entry into force of the CSRD, makes the exclusive use of Excel and collaboration between teams solely by e-mail extremely risky for companies.

Indeed, CSRD is an ESG data management subject, and the difficulty of CSRD lies not so much in the number of boxes to be filled in as in the questions asked and the data required to answer them.

The CSRD imposes an unprecedented level of transparency and control over ESG data, particularly with regard to the environment: 

  • A complete and detailed carbon footprint measurement with comparison to the reference year and justification of variations if the scope of calculation has been modified. - ESRS 1 & E1
  • Requirement to provide justified uncertainty calculations for each data item reported. - ESRS 1 & 2 BP-2
  • Detailed impact reduction targets and trajectories. - ESRS 2 MDR-T
  • A transition action plan with quantified impact, linked to maintaining trajectories and achieving objectives. - ESRS 2 MDR-A
  • A financing plan for transition actions (CapEx, OpEx, etc.). - ESRS 2 MDR-A

All these factors, plus the need to generate future CSRD reporting files in XBRL format (digital taxonomy), make the use of an ESG platform virtually indispensable.

Responding to the CSRD by relying solely on Excel or historical ESG reporting tools would expose the company to non-compliance, significant additional costs and would create a competitive disadvantage by initiating a technical debt with regard to the management of its transition plan:

  • Partial and imprecise data collection
  • Inability to report on impact reduction trajectories
  • Inability to report on action and transition plans and their financing
  • Substantial expenditure on human resources, both internal and external consulting.
  • Non-capitalization of Year 1 efforts for subsequent years.
  • Disengagement and exhaustion of reporting teams
  • Inability to report on progress of impact reduction efforts

The CSRD marks the end of traditional, partial and à la carte extra-financial reporting, imposing the need for modern ESG management and reinforcing the need for adapted Carbon and ESG Data Platforms .

CSRD main Requirements - ESRS

How did Traace design and build its Carbon and ESG Data Platform?

The Traace platform is designed as a nerve center for all the data needed to analyze and manage climate and ESG strategies. Traace's objective is to make impact data usable to build and deploy effective transition plans, and facilitate our customers' transition to concrete action.

The Traace platform is both :

  • a central repository for all ESG & Carbon data - Data Repository: data is reliable, exhaustive, accessible, exportable, auditable throughout its lifecycle and, above all, secure.

  • a Processing Hub: raw data ingested into Traace can be manipulated, processed, converted, combined and filtered in an advanced way to generate the desired impact analyses or simulations, collaborate on datasets and easily produce customized reports at the desired granularity levels.
Traace carbon & ESG data platform - Collection, Processing, Use

Key points of the Traace Data Platform :

  • Its flexibility
    Since its creation, Traace has relied on a flexible data model. Our data model is specially designed to make our platform adaptable, customizable, easy to integrate and, above all, scalable. In particular, it enables our technical team to release new features at a fast pace, so as to respond rapidly to our customers' changing needs.
  • Its scalability
    An efficient Data Platform adapts to the volume of data its users collect. Traace is highly scalable, collecting and processing millions of data points.

  • Its collaborative dimension
    Data governance model: modelling operations + fine-grained role management, enables true data governance to be put in place to ensure data quality and exploitation.

  • Its
    Traace securityis SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 certified, RGPD compliant with data only hosted in Europe. Our customers' data is strictly isolated from each other in a single shared infrastructure. What's more, its robustness is regularly tested through penetration and Business Continuity Planning (BCP) testing.

  • In/Out connectivity
    Traace's data ingestion technical layer is designed to ensure exhaustive, reliable, collaborative and automated collection of raw ESG and activity data.
    Thanks to multi-format data ingestion on the one hand (input into the interface, API, file upload, specific questionnaires set up in the tool and sent to stakeholders, etc.) and via automatic processing of the raw data on the other (collaborative workflows validating source data quality, automated conversions and calculations, automatic grouping of data by category and grid, etc.), Traace is able to offer a wide range of services. ) and via automatic processing of raw data (collaborative workflows to validate source data quality, automated conversion and calculation rules, automatic grouping of data by category and analysis grid, etc.).
Traace Carbon and ESG data platform layers

‍Conviction- The limits of the Data-First approach to ESG issues

The measurement of a company's environmental footprint and ESG impact is based on sensitive business and operational data : industrial processes, value and supply chains, internal organization, investments and purchasing, etc. In fact, "Carbon and ESG Data" is clearly strategic for companies today, and in order to manage its impact and transition, it can be tempting to seek absolute exhaustiveness in its collection and management.

Infact, "Carbon and ESG Data" is clearly strategic for companies today, and in order to manage its impact and transition, it can be tempting to seek absolute exhaustiveness in its data collection and management, in particular by seeking to "APIize" or "automate" everything.

Unless in the near future global and complex value chains, with multiple suppliers and customer outlets, are fully connected and offer reliable and available data at every moment, wanting to "API everything" for its impact data collection is purely utopian and does not correspond to a pragmatic reality of the necessary transition of organizations.‍

At Traace, we automate what can be automated, we connect what can be connected, but we don't make false promises to our customers. Our approach is realistic and pragmatic, with a single objective: to enable our customers to take real action and accelerate the reduction of their negative impacts.

Decarbonization and, more broadly, the transition to low-impact business models are long-term processes. Processes that require regular (at least annual) iterations on the collection, measurement, analysis and simulation of ESG and carbon data. The quality of the data thus takes precedence over its quantity, enriched by methodological expertise and a critical eye to enable, once again, informed and rapid decision-making to deploy its transition on the ground.

On the same theme

Let's talk about your decarbonisation challenges

Request a demo

Construire un SaaS de gestion Carbone & ESG - Épisode 2 : Data Platform

Construire un SaaS de gestion Carbone & ESG - Épisode 2 : Data Platform

Au fur et à mesure que les entreprises engagées alignent stratégie climatique et stratégie d'entreprise, l’exploitation des données liées à l'impact, carbone et ESG, devient à la fois de plus en plus sensible et essentielle pour permettre une transition maîtrisée vers de nouveaux modèles économiques à faible impact. Pour équiper au mieux ces entreprises, Traace est pensé et développé comme une véritable “Data Platform”, avec les spécificités liées aux données d’impact, mais aussi toutes les exigences des Data Platform modernes.

Patrick Nollet

Patrick Nollet

Co-fondateur

31/1/2024

Qu’est-ce qu’une Data Platform ?

Les Data Platforms, ou plateformes de gestion des données, ont vu le jour avec la démocratisation de l’usage de la donnée et l’augmentation exponentielle des données générées et traitées par les entreprises. Une bonne exploitation de la donnée, quel que soit le domaine, devenant un avantage stratégique. 

Les Data Platforms permettent de manipuler des données sur l’ensemble de leur cycle de vie, et de répondre à toutes les problématiques soulevées par un usage fin d’une donnée sensible dans un contexte business concurrentiel :

  • Où se trouve la donnée source ? 
  • Comment la collecter efficacement ? 
  • Où centraliser la donnée collectée ? 
  • Quels traitements (Data Processing) lui appliquer pour obtenir le résultat ou l’information utile ?
  • Comment visualiser la donnée pour l’analyser ?
  • Comment s’assurer de la fiabilité de la donnée (exhaustivité, précision, etc.) pour prendre les bonnes décisions ou réaliser un reporting public ? 
  • Comment collaborer sur un ensemble de données ?
  • etc.  
ESG Data platform - ESG Data Lifecycle

Pourquoi les entreprises ont aujourd’hui besoin de vraies Data Platforms traitant les données carbone et ESG ?

De nombreuses Data Platform gérant un certain type de données ont vu le jour afin de répondre à des besoins de traitement de données que les entreprises couvraient jusqu’alors en combinant fichiers Excel aux multiples onglets et boucles de mails interminables pour collecter des données brutes et collaborer sur ces fichiers Excel afin de manipuler et d’exploiter ces données brutes.

Au fur et à mesure qu’un de ces besoins devient un sujet stratégique pour l’entreprise (gestion des données clients, gestion des stocks, gestion des projets, etc.) le duo “Excel + Boucles de mails” atteint ses limites et commence à devenir un frein à la bonne exploitation des données : Données partielles, erreur de calcul, coûts important de maintiens des fichiers et des macros, difficultés à historiser les données, sécurisation des données et analyses impossibles, etc.

C’est exactement ce qui se passe actuellement pour la gestion des données d’émissions carbone et ESG. La plupart des entreprises qui se frottent à l’exercice s’appuyaient jusqu’à aujourd’hui sur Excel pour réaliser le calcul de leur empreinte carbone ou agréger et gérer leurs données ESG, avant éventuellement de remettre ces données en forme pour les publier dans un rapport annuel.

Chez Traace, nous intégrons par exemple régulièrement pour nos nouveaux clients les mesures d’empreinte carbone qu’ils ont réalisées les années précédentes en s’appuyant sur Excel. À la comparaison avec la première mesure que nous réalisons avec la plateforme, il est très fréquent que nous constations des erreurs de calcul significatives dans les fichiers Excel importés, nécessitant de reprendre l’historique des bilans carboneⓇ afin de permettre une analyse exploitable de l’évolution des mesures carbones. Erreurs qui sont le plus souvent dues à erreurs de saisies ou de manipulations des fichiers Excel plus qu’à des erreurs de méthodologie de comptabilité carbone.

C’est pourquoi le marché sur lequel évolue Traace, celui des plateformes SaaS de gestion des données Carbone et ESG, a vu le jour. De plus en plus d’entreprises cherchent aujourd’hui à s’équiper d’une solution leur permettant de gérer de manière avancée leurs données d’impact. Une solution nécessairement user-friendly afin de faire collaborer toutes les parties prenantes de l’entreprise et notamment les opérationnels non-experts des sujets climats.

Un besoin d’outillage logiciel renforcé par l’entrée en vigueur de la CSRD

Au-delà de la simple mesure d’empreinte, les entreprises matures ont compris que modéliser et piloter des trajectoires de décarbonation par entité et déployer des plans d’action de transition au sein de leur organisation permettant de tenir ces trajectoires est simplement impossible sans un outil adapté.

Aujourd’hui, l’urgence qu’ont les entreprises à réduire réellement leurs émissions carbones des activités d’une part, et la pression réglementaire qui pèse sur elles pour réaliser des reportings extra-financiers avancés d’autre part, notamment avec l’entrée en vigueur de la CSRD, rend l’utilisation exclusive d’Excel et une collaboration des équipes uniquement par mail extrêmement risqué pour les entreprises.

En effet la CSRD est un sujet de management de la “Data ESG” et la difficulté de la CSRD ne réside pas tant dans le nombre de cases à remplir que dans les questions posées et les données attendues pour y répondre.

La CSRD impose aux organisations un niveau de transparence et de maîtrise de leurs données ESG jamais demandé auparavant, notamment sur le volet environnemental, avec notamment l'obligation de fournir : 

  • Une mesure d'empreinte carbone complète et détaillée avec comparatif à l'année de référence et justification des variations si le périmètre de calcul a été modifié. - ESRS 1 & E1
  • Obligation de fournir des calculs d’incertitude justifiés pour chaque donnée reportée. - ESRS 1 & 2 BP-2
  • Des objectifs et trajectoires de réduction d’impact détaillées. - ESRS 2 MDR-T
  • Un plan d'action de transition à l'impact quantifié et lié à la tenue des trajectoires et l'atteinte des objectifs. - ESRS 2 MDR-A
  • Un plan de financement des actions de transition (CapEx, OpEx, etc). - ESRS 2 MDR-A

L'ensemble de ces éléments plus la nécessité de générer les futurs fichiers de reporting CSRD au format XBRL (taxonomie digitale) rend l'utilisation d'une plateforme ESG quasiment indispensable.

Répondre à la CSRD en s’appuyant uniquement sur Excel ou les outils de reporting ESG historiques exposerait à une non-conformité, des surcoûts supplémentaires importants et créerait un désavantage compétitif en amorçant une dette technique quant au pilotage de son plan de transition : 

  • Collecte de données partielle et imprécise
  • Incapacité de reporter sur ses trajectoires de réduction d’impact
  • Incapacité de reporter sur ses plans d’action et de transition et leurs financements
  • Dépenses importantes en ressources humaines, internes ou consulting externe.
  • Non-capitalisation des efforts de l’année 1 pour les années suivantes.
  • Désengagement et épuisement des équipes en charge du reporting
  • Incapacité de reporter sur l’évolution de ses efforts de réduction d’impact

La CSRD signe la fin du reporting extra-financier traditionnel, partiel et à la carte, et impose la nécessité d’une gestion ESG moderne et renforce le besoin de Data Platform Carbone et ESG adaptés.

CSRD main Requirements - ESRS

Comment Traace a pensé et construit sa Data Platform carbone et ESG ?

La plateforme Traace est pensée comme un véritable centre névralgique pour toutes les données permettant d’analyser et de piloter sa stratégie climat et ESG. L’objectif de Traace est de rendre les données d’impact exploitables pour construire et déployer des plans de transition efficaces et faciliter le passage à l’action concret de nos clients.

La plateforme Traace est à la fois :

  • un centre référentiel pour toutes les données ESG & Carbone - Data Repository : la donnée y est fiable, exhaustive, accessible, exportable, auditable sur tout son cycle de vie et surtout sécurisée.

  • un centre de traitement de la donnée - Processing Hub : les données brutes ingérées dans Traace peuvent être manipulées, traitées, converties, combinées et filtrées de manière avancée afin de générer les analyses d’impacts ou simulations souhaitées, de collaborer sur des jeux de données et de facilement réaliser des reporting sur-mesure au niveaux de granularités souhaités.
Traace carbon & ESG data platform - Collection, Processing, Use

Les points clés de la Data Platform de Traace :

  • Sa flexibilité
    Depuis sa création, Traace s’appuie sur un Data Model flexible. Notre modèle de données est spécialement conçu pour rendre notre plateforme adaptable, personnalisable, facile à intégrer et surtout évolutive. Ce socle permet notamment à notre équipe technique d’avoir un rythme de publication de nouvelles fonctionnalités élevé afin de répondre rapidement à l’évolution des besoins de nos clients.
  • Sa scalabilité
    Une Data Platform efficace s’adapte au volume de données de ses utilisateurs. De part son Traace est hautement scalable collecte et traite aujourd’hui des millions de points de données.

  • Sa dimension collaborative
    Modèle de gouvernance de la donnée : modélisation des opérations + gestion des rôles fine, permet de mettre en place une vraie gouvernance de la donnée afin d’assurer sa qualité et son exploitation.

  • Sa sécurité
    Traace est certifiée SOC 2 Type II et ISO 27001, conforme à la RGPD avec des données uniquement hébergées en Europe. Les données de nos clients sont strictement isolées les unes des autres dans une seule infrastructure partagée. De plus sa robustesse  est régulièrement mise à l’épreuve à travers des tests de pénétration et de Plan de Continuité des Activités (BCP - Business Continuity Planning testing).

  • Sa connectivité In/Out
    La couche technique d’ingestion des données de Traace est pensée pour assurer une collecte de données d’activité et ESG brutes exhaustive, fiable, collaborative et automatisée au maximum.
    Grâce à l’ingestion de données multi-formats d’une part (Saisie dans l’interface, API, Upload de fichiers, Questionnaires spécifiques paramétrés dans l’outils et envoyés aux parties-prenantes, etc.) et via des traitements automatiques de la donnée brute d’autre part (workflows collaboratifs de validation de la qualité des données sources, règle de conversions et de calculs automatisés, regroupement automatique des données par catégorie et grille d’analyse, etc.)
Traace Carbon and ESG data platform layers

Conviction - Les limites de l’approche Data-First sur les sujets ESG

Fait sérieusement et de manière exploitable, la mesure de l’empreinte environnementale et de l’impact ESG d’une entreprise se fait à partir de données d’activités et opérationnelles sensibles : processus industriels, chaîne de valeur et d’approvisionnement, organisation interne, investissements et achats, etc.

De fait, la “Data Carbone et ESG” est aujourd’hui clairement stratégique pour les entreprises, et afin de piloter son impact et sa transition, il peut être tentant de chercher une exhaustivité absolue dans sa collecte et sa gestion des données en cherchant notamment à “tout APIser” ou “tout automatiser”.

À moins que dans un futur proche les chaînes de valeurs mondiales et complexes, aux fournisseurs et débouchés clients multiples, soient entièrement connectées et offrent des données fiables et disponibles à chaque instant, vouloir “tout APIser” pour sa collecte de données d’impact est purement utopique et ne correspond pas à une réalité pragmatique de la transition nécessaire des organisations.

Chez Traace, nous automatisons ce qui peut l’être, nous connectons ce qui peut l’être mais nous ne faisons pas de fausses promesses à nos clients et notre approche se veut réaliste et pragmatique avec un seul objectif : permettre à nos clients de passer à l’action, réellement, et accélérer la réduction de leurs impacts négatifs.

La décarbonation et plus largement la transition vers des modèles d’affaire à faible impact sont des processus du temps long. Des processus qui demandent des itérations régulière (à minima annuelle) sur la collecte, la mesure, l’analyse et la simulation sur ses données ESG et carbone. La qualité de la donnée prime alors sur sa quantité, enrichie par une expertise méthodologique et un regard critique afin de permettre, encore une fois, une prise de décision éclairée et rapide pour déployer sa transition sur le terrain.

Sur la même thématique

Parlons de vos enjeux de décarbonation

Demander une démo