Carbon tax at the borders: the complete guide

Carbon tax at the borders: the complete guide

How to decarbonize European industry without impacting its competitiveness? Focus on the Border Carbon Adjustment Mechanism (BCAM).

20/12/2022

Carbon markets and taxonomy, where do we stand today?

Traace Infographic: Carbon Tax at the Borders

Context

In 2005, Europe set up the largest carbon market in the world in order to control and limit the amount of greenhouse gases emitted: the Emissions Trading Scheme (ETS). Member states set an annual degressive cap on the amount of carbon on the market and then allocate them free of charge or by auction to companies, which represent about 11,000 installations in 31 countries, or about 45% of the EU's GHGs. The system thus aims to reward the most virtuous companies, which can resell their assets, and to penalize those that emit too much carbon, which are forced to buy quotas on the market.

Today, the EU is working on a new mechanism to complement the EU ETS: the Border Carbon Adjustment Mechanism (BCAM) or commonly known as the border carbon tax:

  • In March 2022, the European Council reached an agreement on the regulatory text that frames it.
  • On December 16 and 17, 2022, the EU agreed on new points covering, among other things, the expansion of the sectors impacted and an acceleration of the implementation of the mechanism with, among other things, more ambitious medium-term objectives.

For a quick reminder of the framework, the MACF text is part of the "Adjustment to Target 55" package proposed as part of the Green Pact for Europe, regulated by European climate law. The goal of the pact is to be the first climate-neutral continent by 2050, with an intermediate target of a 55% reduction in GHG emissions for Europe by 2030 compared to the base year 1990. In this article, we will see what the Border Carbon Adjustment Mechanism consists of and how it is closely linked to the EU ETS.

1. Why a new carbon device?

With the Green Pact for Europe, the EU shows its strong ambition to become a pioneer in the ecological transition. As a result, this desire is inevitably accompanied by highly restrictive and sometimes penalising regulations for businesses on the ground.

The main risk of this dissymmetry between the EU and the rest of the world (non-EU areas, European Economic Area and Switzerland) is the relocation and transfer of greenhouse gas emissions to countries with less stringent environmental requirements. Some companies would benefit from relocating their most emission-intensive activities to third countries (cost reduction) and some EU products would risk being replaced by more carbon-intensive imported products.

Themain objective of the carbon tax is therefore to prevent carbon leakage from the EU as well as to limit the transfer of responsibility for polluting emissions to these countries while the goods and services produced are destined for Europe. Not containing this leakage would significantly undermine the EU's GHG emission reduction efforts, since from a global perspective the real local reductions would be offset or even exceeded by the increase in relocated emissions.

Finally, by imposing this carbon adjustment mechanism at the borders, Europe also hopes to encourage its partner countries to introduce carbon policies that are just as ambitious as those of Europe in order to remain competitive on its market.

2. How does the MACF work?

The border carbon adjustment mechanism will require importing companies to purchase certificates, i.e. carbon allowances at the market price (the amount of which, expressed in €/tonne of CO2, is set each week by the ETS), depending on the goods imported, or to prove that the producer has already paid the corresponding amount.

In order to comply, importers will have to declare each year before 31 May the goods imported during the last 12 months, the carbon volume associated with them and justify their purchases of corresponding MACF certificates. The number of allowances purchased will have to correspond to the carbon density that the same product manufactured within the EU would have. Depending on the difference, the balance will be rebalanced, with a penalty if the company does not justify enough certificates and a deduction if it does.

Today, the OECD notes that there is little offshoring of carbon generated by the ETS. This may no longer be the case as Europe moves towards decarbonization to meet the Green Deal targets. Thus, the ultimate goal of the MACF is to replace the current system of allocation of free EU ETS allowances and to prevent possible carbon leakage. These free allowances will be progressively phased out and will disappear completely by 2034. At the same time, the allowances offered on the market will be reduced by 62% in 2030 compared to 2005, in contrast to the 43% reduction set before this new agreement, always with the objective of further accelerating the transition to the MACF.

Regarding the revenues collected by this new carbon tax, 75% of them will be dedicated to the EU budget to boost the European economy and make it more independent from other economies.

3. What products are covered by the MACF?

In order to ensure the implementation of the carbon adjustment mechanism at the borders, the planned deployment is gradual in terms of the sectors and scopes taken into account. The products concerned will therefore evolve over the next few years. For the time being, the MACF only affects direct emissions (scope 1) in the manufacture of products and concerns five of the most emissive sectors at risk in terms of carbon relocation. The sectors are as follows:

  • Cement
  • Aluminium
  • Fertilizers
  • Production of electrical energy
  • Iron and steel
  • Hydrogen

In December 2022, the European Union reached an agreement on the application of this tax on fuel, gas and heating oil, which will have a significant impact on households. It also adopted a broadening of the scope of the tax, which will address in a second phase the maritime sector, emissions from intra-European flights and waste incineration sites (still under discussion within the EU).

Among the sectors that would be interesting to see included in this MACF are the paper and cardboard and chemical industries. Together they contribute 8% of the European industrial sector's emissions.

Source: "Share of CO2 emissions in the total industrial CO2 emissions in the EU ETS in 2018", EUTL, CE Delft

To date, only primary products are targeted by the MACF because they are simpler to track from a carbon perspective, unlike the rest of the value chain, where the complexity of reporting increases with the diversity of products. The risk of restricting the MACF to primary products is to create a carbon leakage downstream from production, and thus limit the desired emission reduction results. We will have to wait for the second phase of deployment and the results obtained to hope for a revision of the products covered by the MACF.

4. What are the next key dates for MACF?

Different phases have been defined for the deployment:

  • 2023: Start of reporting for the companies concerned on the emissions from their imported products,
  • 2026: Implementation of the MACF and coexistence with the EU ETS (free carbon allocation), possible updating of the scopes and industries covered,
  • 2034: End of the free carbon allocation of the ETS and full transition to the MACF.

5. Some reservations about the MACF

The complexity in monitoring and establishing the Border Carbon Adjustment Mechanism will reside in several important points, among which:

  • The difficulty of carbon traceability (for example, tracking the origin of electricity consumed) and the costs of implementing carbon reporting. The EU gives companies three years to refine their carbon reporting.
  • Dialogue with third countries on the measure to avoid potential trade retaliation. It is hoped that partner countries will be encouraged to introduce a similar carbon pricing system and/or invest in "greener" production technologies in order to facilitate trade under the MACF.
  • The risk of an increase in the price of raw products but also of finished products. The impact is already measurable following the agreements of the end of 2022 which concerns in particular primary fossil fuels still largely consumed by households. The EU will have to justify how it will support the most vulnerable consumers facing the addition of carbon tax, through the redistribution of aid from its "Social Fund for Climate".
  • The risk of a drop in European competitiveness for exports, as the MACF only applies to imports into the EU.
  • The current limitation for the first phase of deployment to the scope 1 emissions of products.

As the planned deployment is gradual and subject to adjustment, the EU may, after evaluating the effects during the first phase of deployment (reporting of imported emissions from 2023), extend this carbon tax at the borders to several new sectors. It would be interesting and relevant toextend this tax to the emissions of scopes 2 and 3 of products that are not currently taken into account.

Conclusion

The MACF is an important step forward in the plan to decarbonise the European economy and make Europe carbon neutral by 2050.

While many issues will need to be refined and monitored during its deployment, the Border Carbon Adjustment Mechanism is encouraging because it shows that the EU is making progress on the issue ofcorporate carbon accountability, with more ambitious measures that involve actors outside the continent. The objectives set by the EU for 2050 are thus integrated into the global economy and could encourage more countries to follow the path of decarbonization in line with the challenges of the environmental transition.

Bibliography

1 - Carbon adjustment at borders - risks and opportunities for European industry

2 - COMMUNICATION FROM THE COMMISSION TO THE EUROPEAN PARLIAMENT, THE COUNCIL, THE EUROPEAN ECONOMIC AND SOCIAL COMMITTEE AND THE COMMITTEE OF THE REGIONS "Adjusting to Target 55": Moving towards the EU's 2030 climate target on the road to climate neutrality

3 - Border carbon adjustment mechanism: Questions and answers

4 - Council agreement on the Carbon Border Adjustment Mechanism (CBAM)

Latest news

Make history without leaving a trace.

Taxe Carbone aux frontières : le guide complet

Taxe Carbone aux frontières : le guide complet

Comment décarboner l'industrie Européenne sans impacter sa compétitivité ? Focus sur Mécanisme d'Ajustement Carbone aux Frontières (MACF).

20/12/2022

Marchés carbone et taxonomie, où en est-on aujourd’hui ?

Infographie Traace : Taxe Carbone aux Frontières

Contexte

En 2005, l’Europe met en place le plus grand marché carbone au monde dans l’objectif de contrôler et de limiter la quantité de gaz à effets de serre émise : le Système d'Échange de Quotas d'Émission (SEQE). Les états membres fixent annuellement un plafond dégressif de quantité de carbone sur le marché et les allouent ensuite gratuitement ou par enchères aux entreprises, soit environ 11 000 installations dans 31 pays, environ 45% des GES de l’UE. Le dispositif vise ainsi à récompenser les entreprises les plus vertueuses, qui peuvent revendre leurs actifs et à pénaliser celles qui émettent trop de carbone, contraintes d’acheter des quotas sur le marché.

Aujourd’hui, l’UE travaille sur un nouveau dispositif qui se veut complémentaire au SEQE : le Mécanisme d’Ajustement Carbone aux Frontières (MACF) ou communément appelé taxe carbone aux frontières :

  • C’est en mars 2022 que le Conseil européen est parvenu à un accord sur le texte réglementaire qui l’encadre.
  • Les 16 et 17 décembre 2022, l’UE s’est accordé sur de nouveaux points couvrant notamment l’élargissement des secteurs impactés et une accélération de la mise en place du mécanisme avec notamment des objectifs plus ambitieux à moyen terme.

Pour un rappel rapide du cadre, le texte du MACF fait partie du paquet “Ajustement à l’objectif 55” proposé dans le cadre du Pacte Vert pour l’Europe, réglementé par la loi européenne sur le climat. L’objectif du pacte est d’être le premier continent neutre d’un point de vue climatique d’ici 2050, avec comme cible intermédiaire la réduction de 55% des émissions de GES pour l’Europe d'ici 2030 par rapport à l'année de référence 1990. Nous allons voir dans cet article en quoi le Mécanisme d’Ajustement Carbone aux Frontières consiste et son lien étroit avec le SEQE.

1. Pourquoi un nouveau dispositif carbone?

Avec le Pacte vert pour l’Europe, l’UE montre sa forte ambition de devenir pionnière de la transition écologique. En conséquence, cette volonté s’accompagne inévitablement de réglementations fortement restrictives et parfois pénalisantes pour les entreprises sur le territoire.

Le principal risque de cette dissymétrie entre l’UE et le reste du monde (zones hors UE, espace économique européen et Suisse) est la délocalisation et le transfert des émissions de gaz à effet de serre vers des pays moins contraignants sur les sujets environnementaux. Certaines entreprises bénéficieraient d’une délocalisation de leurs activités les plus émissives vers des pays tiers (réduction de coûts) et certains produits de l’UE risqueraient d’être remplacés par des produits importés plus carbonés.

L’objectif principal de la taxe carbone est donc de prévenir les fuites de carbone de l’UE ainsi que de limiter le transfert de responsabilité des émissions polluantes vers ces pays alors que les biens et services produits seraient destinés à l’Europe. Ne pas contenir ces fuites nuirait considérablement aux efforts de réduction des émissions de GES de l’UE, puisque d’un point de vue global les réductions réelles locales seraient compensées voire dépassées par l'augmentation des émissions délocalisées.

Enfin, en imposant ce mécanisme d’ajustement carbone aux frontières, l’Europe espère également inciter les pays partenaires à instaurer des politiques autour du carbone toutes aussi ambitieuses que celles de l’Europe pour rester compétitifs sur son marché.

2. Comment le MACF fonctionne-t-il ?

Le mécanisme d’ajustement du carbone aux frontières imposera aux entreprises importatrices d’acheter des certificats, c'est-à-dire des quotas carbone au prix du marché (dont le montant exprimé en € / tonne de CO2 est fixé chaque semaine par le SEQE) selon la marchandise importée ou bien de justifier que le producteur s’est déjà acquitté du montant correspondant.

Afin d’être en règle, les importateurs devront déclarer chaque année avant le 31 mai la marchandise importée au cours des 12 derniers mois, le volume carbone associé à celles-ci et justifier leurs achats de certificats MACF correspondants. Le nombre de quotas achetés devra correspondre à la densité carbone qu’aurait le même produit fabriqué au sein de l’UE. Selon la différence, la balance sera rééquilibrée, par une pénalité si l’entreprise ne justifie pas assez de certificats et d’une déduction le cas contraire.

Aujourd’hui, l’OCDE constate qu’il y a peu de délocalisation du carbone généré par le SEQE. Cela risque à terme de ne plus être le cas, à mesure que l’Europe avance dans sa décarbonation en vue des objectifs du Pacte vert. Ainsi, le but à terme du MACF est de remplacer le système actuel d’allocation des quotas gratuits du SEQE et de prévenir les possibles fuites de carbone. Ces droits à polluer gratuits vont progressivement être supprimés pour une disparition totale d’ici 2034. En parallèle, les quotas proposés sur le marché seront réduits de 62% en 2030 par rapport à 2005, contrairement aux 43% de réduction fixés avant ce nouvel accord, toujours dans l’objectif d’accélérer encore plus la transition vers le MACF.

Concernant les recettes collectées par cette nouvelle taxe carbone, 75% de celles-ci seront dédiées au budget de l’UE pour relancer l’économie européenne et la rendre davantage autonome vis-à-vis des autres économies.

3. Quels produits sont concernés par le MACF ?

Pour assurer la mise en place du mécanisme d’ajustement carbone aux frontières, le déploiement prévu est progressif sur les secteurs et sur les scopes pris en compte. Les produits concernés seront donc amenés à évoluer sur les prochaines années. Pour le moment, le MACF touche seulement les émissions directes (scope 1) dans la fabrication des produits et concerne cinq secteurs parmi les plus émissifs et à risque en terme de délocalisation du carbone. Les secteurs sont les suivants :

  • Ciment
  • Aluminium
  • Engrais
  • Production d'énergie électrique
  • Fer et acier
  • Hydrogène

En décembre 2022, l’Union Européenne a trouvé un accord sur l’application de cette taxe sur le carburant, le gaz et le fioul de chauffage, qui impactera fortement les ménages. Elle a également adopté un élargissement du champ d’application de la taxe, qui adressera dans un second temps le secteur maritime, les émissions des vols aériens intra-européens et les sites d’incinération des déchets (encore en discussion au sein de l’UE).

Parmi les secteurs qu’il serait intéressant de voir intégrés dans ce MACF, on peut citer les industries du papier et carton et des produits chimiques notamment. Il contribuent à hauteur de 8% des émissions du secteur industriel européen à eux deux.

Source : "Share of CO2 emissions in the total industrial CO2 emissions in the EU ETS in 2018", EUTL, CE Delft

À ce jour, seuls les produits primaires sont ciblés par le MACF car ils sont plus simples à suivre d’un point de vue carbone contrairement au reste de la chaine de valeur, dont la complexité de reporting augmente avec la diversité des produits. Le risque de restreindre le MACF aux produits primaires est de créer une fuite du carbone vers l’aval de la production, et ainsi de limiter les résultats de réduction d’émissions voulus. Il faudra attendre la seconde phase de déploiement et les résultats obtenus pour espérer une révision des produits couverts par le MACF.

4. Quelles sont les prochaines dates clés du MACF ?

Différentes phases ont été définies pour le déploiement :

  • 2023 : Début du reporting pour les entreprises concernées sur les émissions liés à leurs produits importés,
  • 2026 : Mise en fonctionnement du MACF et coexistence avec le SEQE (allocation de quotas carbone gratuits), mise à jour éventuelle des scopes et industries couvertes,
  • 2034 : Fin de l’allocation de titre carbone gratuits du SEQE et transition complète vers le MACF.

5. Quelques réserves sur le MACF

La complexité dans le suivi et l’établissement du Mécanisme d’Ajustement Carbone aux Frontières résidera dans plusieurs points importants, parmi lesquels :

  • La difficulté de traçabilité du carbone (par exemple notamment pour le suivi de l’origine de l’électricité consommée) et les coûts de mise en place du reporting carbone. L’UE donne trois ans aux entreprises pour affiner leur reporting carbone.
  • Le dialogue avec les pays tiers sur la mesure afin d’éviter d’éventuelles représailles commerciales. Il faudra espérer que les pays partenaires seront encouragés à instaurer un système de tarification du carbone similaire et/ou à investir dans des technologies de production plus “vertes” dans l’optique de faciliter les échanges commerciaux soumis au MACF.
  • Le risque d’une augmentation des prix des produits bruts mais aussi des produits finis. L’impact est déjà mesurable suite aux accords de la fin d’année 2022 qui concerne notamment les énergies primaires fossiles encore largement consommées par les ménages. L’UE devra justifier comment elle accompagnera les consommateurs les plus vulnérables face à l’ajout de taxe carbone, à travers la redistribution d’aides depuis son “Fonds social pour le climat”.
  • Le risque d’une baisse de compétitivité européenne à l’export, le MACF ne s’appliquant que pour les imports dans l’UE.
  • La limitation actuelle pour la première phase de déploiement au scope 1 d'émissions des produits.

Le déploiement prévu étant progressif et soumis à ajustement, l’UE pourra, après avoir évalué les effets pendant la première phase de déploiement (reporting des émissions importées dès 2023), étendre cette taxe carbone aux frontières sur plusieurs nouveaux secteurs. Il serait intéressant et pertinent d’étendre cette taxe aux émissions des scopes 2 et 3 des produits qui aujourd’hui ne sont pas prises en compte.

Conclusion

Le MACF constitue une avancée importante dans le plan de décarbonation de l’économie européenne pour un continent neutre d’ici 2050.

Si de nombreux points seront à affiner et à surveiller au cours de son déploiement, le Mécanisme d’Ajustement Carbone aux Frontières est encourageant car il montre que l’UE avance sur les sujets de responsabilisation des entreprises sur le carbone, avec des mesures plus ambitieuses qui impliquent les acteurs extérieurs au continent. Les objectifs fixés par l’UE pour 2050 sont ainsi intégrés dans l’économie mondiale et pourraient inciter davantage de pays à suivre la voie d’une décarbonation à la hauteur des enjeux de la transition environnementale.

Bibliographie

1 - Ajustement carbone aux frontières – risques et opportunités pour l’industrie européenne

2 - COMMUNICATION DE LA COMMISSION AU PARLEMENT EUROPÉEN, AU CONSEIL, AU COMITÉ ÉCONOMIQUE ET SOCIAL EUROPÉEN ET AU COMITÉ DES RÉGIONS «Ajustement à l’objectif 55»: atteindre l’objectif climatique de l’UE à l’horizon 2030 sur la voie de la neutralité climatique

3 - Mécanisme d'ajustement carbone aux frontières: Questions et réponses

4 - Accord au Conseil sur le Mécanisme d'ajustement carbone aux frontières (MACF)

Dernières actualités

Marquez l’histoire sans laisser de traces.