Net Zero Initiative: 10 principles for an ambitious corporate climate strategy

Net Zero Initiative: 10 principles for an ambitious corporate climate strategy

We are pleased to be a signatory of the 10 principles for an ambitious corporate climate strategy, supported by the Net Zero Initiative project, and co-constructed by a large number of climate change professionals in France.

29/6/2022

Net Zero Initiative in a nutshell

This initiative, supported by ADEME and carried out by our partner Carbone 4, is a unique work, since it stems from a common position of the majority of firms, project developers and software publishers on the issues of contribution to Net Zero.

The aim is to lay the foundations for a rigorous and ambitious corporate climate strategy, aligned with science and the objectives of the Paris Agreement.

The signatories call on all organisations, whatever their size and sector, to put them into practice in order to build a climate strategy that meets the challenges.

The 10 principles

01 - Net zero refers primarily to the global ambition to balance GHG emissions and carbon sinks.

The main objective of climate action is to limit warming to the temperature target set out in the Paris Agreement, by urgently mobilising the means to collectively achieve zero net global GHG emissions in the second half of the century.

02 - For a company, having a net zero strategy means wanting to make the necessary transformations to achieve global carbon neutrality by 2050.

A corporate climate strategy should aim to make the company's activities compatible with a net-zero emissions world in 2050, and should contribute at the right level to achieving this net-zero global goal, on different lines of action.

03 - To structure their climate action, companies must distinguish between three different types of action, which are not fungible: reduction, avoidance and sequestration.

A company has three levers around which to structure its climate strategy: reducing emissions from its value chain, helping others to reduce their emissions, and developing carbon sinks. These levers must be measured, objectified, monitored and reported separately.

04 - The reduction of emissions by companies must be the priority subject of their climate action.

For most of their activities, reducing direct and indirect emissions at the right level and at the right speed must be the top priority of a company's climate strategy.

05 - Companies must necessarily measure and communicate all the emissions in their value chain.

The measurement of the company's GHG footprint should be carried out at least on all direct emissions and on significant indirect emissions.

06 - Emission reduction targets must be consistent with climate science.

It is essential that companies set targets for reducing their carbon footprint as a matter of priority. For a credible climate strategy, these objectives must be compatible with the 1.5°C or well-below 2°C carbon budgets. These objectives must be specified for medium and long-term horizons.

07 - Beyond mere commitments, it is urgent that companies obtain concrete and rapid results on the reduction of their emissions.

A climate strategy is only valuable if it leads to real reductions in the company's level of GHG emissions, in line with the set trajectory. To achieve this, it is imperative to define a business transformation plan, which must be monitored and driven in a dynamic way. Companies must provide themselves with the means to achieve their ambitions.

08 - Businesses should contribute as much as possible to the decarbonisation of their ecosystem by generating avoided emissions.

In addition to reducing their emissions, companies are encouraged to contribute to decarbonisation beyond their carbon footprint, both by developing their range of 1.5°C-compatible low-carbon products and services that avoid emissions at their customers' sites, and by financing additional emissions reductions outside their value chain.

09 - Companies must develop carbon sinks to the right level.

In addition to reducing their own emissions and contributing to the decarbonisation of third parties (emission avoidance), companies are encouraged to contribute at the right level to the sustainable sequestration of CO2 in carbon sinks, with priority given to action within their value chain.

10 - If companies wish to communicate their climate strategy, they must do so in a rigorous and impeccable manner.

Companies are invited to communicate transparently and sincerely on their climate strategy, focusing on their concrete results, and using indicators and language that help promote a rigorous approach to the climate issue.

To go further

Latest news

Make history without leaving a trace.

Net Zero Initiative : 10 principes pour une stratégie  climat d’entreprise ambitieuse

Net Zero Initiative : 10 principes pour une stratégie climat d’entreprise ambitieuse

Nous sommes heureux d’être signataires des 10 principes pour une stratégie climat d’entreprise ambitieuse, portée par le projet Net Zero Initiative, et co-construite par un grand nombre de professionnels du changement climatique en France.

29/6/2022
Sommaire

Net Zero Initiative en deux mots

Cette initiative soutenue par l’ADEME et portée par notre partenaire Carbone 4 est un travail unique en son genre, puisqu’elle découle d’une position commune à la majorité des cabinets, développeurs de projets et éditeurs de logiciels sur les questions de contribution au Net Zéro planétaire.

L'objectif est de définir les bases d'une stratégie climat d'entreprise rigoureuse et ambitieuse, alignée avec la science et avec les objectifs de l'Accord de Paris.

Les signataires appellent toutes les organisations, quelle que soit leur taille et leur secteur, à les mettre en pratique pour construire une stratégie climat à la hauteur des enjeux.

Les 10 principes

01 - Le net zéro désigne avant tout l’ambition planétaire d’équilibrage des émissions de GES et des puits de carbone.

L’objectif principal de l’action climat est de limiter le réchauffement à l’objectif de température défini dans l’Accord de Paris, en mobilisant de façon urgente les moyens d’atteindre collectivement le zéro émission nette de GES au niveau planétaire au cours de la deuxième moitié du siècle.

02 - Pour une entreprise, avoir une stratégie net zéro signifie vouloir opérer les transformations nécessaires à l’atteinte de la neutralité carbone planétaire en 2050.

Une stratégie climat d’entreprise doit viser à rendre les activités de l’entreprise compatibles avec un monde zéro émission nette en 2050, et doit contribuer au juste niveau à l’atteinte de cet objectif net zéro planétaire, sur différents axes d’action.

03 - Pour structurer leur action climat, les entreprises doivent distinguer trois différents types d’action, qui ne sont pas fongibles : la réduction, l’évitement, la séquestration.

Une entreprise dispose de trois leviers autour desquels structurer sa stratégie climat : réduire les émissions de sa chaîne de valeur, aider les autres à réduire leurs émissions, et développer les puits de carbone.Ces leviers doivent être mesurés, objectivés, pilotés et reportés séparément.

04 - La réduction des émissions des entreprises doit être le sujet prioritaire de leur action climat.

Pour l’essentiel de leurs activités, la réduction, au juste niveau et à la bonne vitesse, des émissions directes et indirectes doit constituer la priorité absolue de la stratégie climat d’une entreprise.

05 - Les entreprises doivent nécessairement mesurer et communiquer sur l’ensemble des émissions de leur chaîne de valeur.

La mesure de l’empreinte GES de l’entreprise doit s’effectuer a minima sur l’ensemble des émissions directes et sur les émissions indirectes significatives.

06 - Les objectifs de réduction des émissions doivent être cohérents avec la science du climat.

De façon incontournable et prioritaire, l’entreprise doit se fixer des objectifs de réduction de son empreinte carbone. Pour une stratégie climat crédible, ces objectifs doivent impérativement être compatibles avec les budgets carbone 1,5°C ou well-below 2°C. Ces objectifs doivent être précisés pour des horizons de moyen terme et de long terme.

07 - Au-delà des seuls engagements, il est urgent que les entreprises obtiennent des résultats concrets et rapides sur la réduction de leurs émissions.

Une stratégie climat n’a de valeur que si elle conduit à des réductions réelles du niveau d’émissions de GES de l’entreprise, en ligne avec la trajectoire fixée. Pour cela, il est impératif de définir un plan de transformation d’entreprise, qui doit être suivi et piloté de façon dynamique. Les entreprises doivent se doter de moyens en rapport avec leurs ambitions.

08 - Les entreprises doivent contribuer au maximum à la décarbonation de leur écosystème en générant des émissions évitées.

En complément de leur action de réduction de leurs émissions, les entreprises sont encouragées à contribuer à la décarbonation au-delà de leur périmètre d’empreinte carbone, d’une part en développant leurs gammes de produits et services bas carbone compatibles 1 ,5°C évitant des émissions chez leurs clients, d’autre part en finançant des réductions d’émissions additionnelles en dehors de leur chaîne de valeur.

09 - Les entreprises doivent développer au juste niveau les puits de carbone.

En complément de leur action de réduction de leurs émissions et de contribution à la décarbonation d’acteurs tiers (évitement d’émissions), les entreprises sont encouragées à contribuer au juste niveau à la séquestration durable de CO2 dans les puits de carbone, en agissant en priorité à l’intérieur de leur chaîne de valeur.‍

10 - Si les entreprises souhaitent communiquer sur leur stratégie climat, elles doivent le faire de façon rigoureuse et irréprochable.

Les entreprises sont invitées à communiquer de façon transparente et sincère sur leur stratégie climat, en mettant l’accent sur leurs résultats concrets, et en utilisant des indicateurs et des éléments de langage qui contribuent à promouvoir une approche rigoureuse de l’enjeu climat.‍

Pour aller plus loin

Dernières actualités

Marquez l’histoire sans laisser de traces.