Traace, the first SaaS aimed at large corporates and Midcaps to be assessed as compliant with the Bilan Carbone® methodology according to ABC.

Traace, the first SaaS aimed at large corporates and Midcaps to be assessed as compliant with the Bilan Carbone® methodology according to ABC.

Traace has been audited by the ABC in order to certify the compliance of the platform with the requirements of the methodological standard which is the Bilan Carbone® and for which the ABC is the guarantor. The transparency of the tool and the quality of the accompaniment were particularly appreciated.

Thomas Guyot

Thomas Guyot

Co-founder

21/2/2023

ABC, the Bilan Carbone® guarantor

TheAssociation for the Low Carbon Transition (ABC), created in 2011 by ADEME and APCC, has been developing the Bilan Carbone® methodology for over 10 years. methodology for the accounting and analysis of greenhouse gas emissions (GH G) emissions of organizations.

The role of ABC is in particular to promote and develop the Bilan Carbone® standard by being the guarantor of its methodological principles now widely shared by the ecosystem of low-carbon transition actors.

Why does CBA assess the compliance of carbon accounting tools?

The use of the term Bilan Carbone® has been widely democratized over the last few years, and the term has now become part of everyday language. Unfortunately, it is now often misused for marketing purposes, whereas supporting the transition of the economy to a low-carbon model requires rigor and accuracy.

Following the appearance on the market of numerous carbon accounting software tools, with varying levels of requirement in terms of their methodological approach, ABC wished to develop its compliance with the Bilan Carbone® method for carbon accounting tools available on the market.

This conformity attestation process by the ABC makes it possible towork on the methodological robustness deployed by the tools and to guide the actors of the transition within companies in their choices when they decide to equip themselves with a solution to accelerate their climate strategy.

Finally, the ABC reminds us that "any person or solution offering you a "Certified Carbon Footprint®" relies on a certification process that does not exist." (1)

Behind the scenes of the ABC evaluation of Traace.

The framework of the Bilan Carbone® compliance audit

Traace has been audited during the last months according to the new CBA assessment standard for carbon accounting tools.

The audit carried out by ABC was based on four pillars, three historical ones of the "Bilan Carbone Conform" approach and one new one:

  • The technical and methodological framework deployed by the solution.
  • thesupport of the carbon approach offered by the solution.
  • The transparency of the approach taken by the solution with its customers.
  • Communication and positioning of the solution.

This last new criterion was added to the audit by the ABC in order toensure that the solutions certified as compliant do not relay messages that are disconnected from the real issues of the transition towards a low-carbon economic model, solely to satisfy their personal objectives.

Thus in the framework of the evaluation, the Traace platform was evaluated but also our blogthe content of our presentations and in general our communication: everything has been scrutinized in order to verify that the messages we communicate are not misleading.

The ABC audit process

Two auditors were involved to evaluate Traace on these four pillars. One CBA auditor and one external auditor, each of them carrying out their study according to the same evaluation frame of reference in order to guarantee transparency, quality and independence of the approach.

On the different pillars of the evaluation, the auditors have notably underlined :

  • Technical and methodological framework: completeness of carbon accounting, promotion of the physical approach, completeness of the GHGs taken into account as well as the ability to quantify carbon reduction actions.
  • Accompaniment: the ability to increase the competence of the interlocutors and to sensitize the stakeholders of the organization.
  • Transparency of the process: the quality of the documentation on the methodology followed, the detailed user guide and the visibility provided on the emission factors used.
  • Communication and positioning: the conformity of Traace's messages with those of the ABC and ADEME, especially on the subjects of carbon neutrality and carbon contribution.

During the audit, Traace teams took into account the feedbacks of the ABC to make the solution and the support proposed to our customers even more relevant. The audit was also the opportunity to enrich our documentation and the awareness and training elements that we share during our presentations.

The excellent score obtained finally allowed tocertify the conformity of Traace to the ABC standard and the Bilan Carbone methodology.

The exercise was particularly appreciated by Traace teams. It was an opportunity to question ourselves, to take an objective look at our strengths and areas for improvement, and above all to aim for an ever more demanding methodology and approach, commensurate with the climate challenges we are tackling alongside our clients.

Conclusion - Why was this CBA certification important to Traace?

Since its launch in 2020, Traace has been working to technologically equip organizations to accelerate their transition to a low carbon model.

This mission that drives the Traace teams is the materialization of the deep convictions that animate the team members and the clients who join us: tackling the decarbonization of our economy requires seriousness, rigor and transparency.

A certification is only meaningful if it is issued by an independent third party with no conflict of interest. A certification where the auditor and the consultant are part of the same entity has no value. This is why Traace preferred to devote its energy to be audited by ABC rather than to launch its own internal certification as some actors of our market do, which is more like greenwashing than any serious approach.

For our clients, choosing a tool evaluated by ABC as compliant with the Bilan Carbone® methodology is the assurance of obtaining rigorous and activable carbon accounting, a sharp and relevant support on the subjects related to carbon emissions and, in general, an expertise at least equivalent to the standard that is the Bilan Carbone® method.


-> Learn more about the Traace platform and our different modules for measuring, analyzing and planning decarbonation actions: click here!


Sources

- (1) https://abc-transitionbascarbone.fr/tout-savoir-sur-le-bilan-carbone-la-mise-au-point-complete-de-lassociation-pour-la-transition-bas-carbone/
- https://abc-transitionbascarbone.fr/tribune-non-un-bilan-carbone-realise-en-quelques-clics-nexiste-pas/

On the same theme

Let's talk about your decarbonisation challenges

Request a demo

Traace, premier SaaS s’adressant aux grands groupes et ETI à être évalué conforme à la méthodologie Bilan Carbone® selon l’ABC.

Traace, premier SaaS s’adressant aux grands groupes et ETI à être évalué conforme à la méthodologie Bilan Carbone® selon l’ABC.

Traace a été audité par l’ABC afin d’attester de la conformité de la plateforme aux exigences du standard méthodologique qu’est le Bilan Carbone® et dont l’ABC est garant. La transparence de l'outil et la qualité de l'accompagnement ont notamment été appréciés.

Thomas Guyot

Thomas Guyot

Co-fondateur

21/2/2023

L’ABC, le garant du Bilan Carbone®

L’Association pour la transition Bas Carbone (ABC), créé en 2011 par l’ADEME et l’APCC, porte depuis plus de 10 ans la méthodologie du Bilan Carbone®, méthodologie de référence quant à la comptabilisation et à l’analyse des émissions de Gaz à Effet de Serre (GES) des organisations.

Le rôle de l’ABC est notamment de promouvoir et de développer le standard du Bilan Carbone® en étant le garant de ses principes méthodologiques aujourd’hui largement partagé par l’écosystème des acteurs de la transition bas carbone.

Pourquoi l’ABC évalue la conformité des outils de comptabilité carbone ?

L’emploi du terme Bilan Carbone® s’étant largement démocratisé au cours des dernières années, le terme est aujourd’hui passé dans le langage courant. Il est malheureusement aujourd’hui souvent galvaudé à des fins marketing là où l'accompagnement de la transition de l'économie vers un modèle bas carbone nécessite rigueur et justesse.

Suite à l’apparition sur le marché de nombreux outils logiciels de comptabilité carbone, aux niveaux d’exigence variables quant à leur approche méthodologique, l’ABC a souhaité développer sa mise en conformité à la méthode Bilan Carbone® des outils de comptabilité carbone disponibles sur le marché.

Cette démarche d’attestation de conformité par l’ABC permet d’œuvrer à la robustesse méthodologique déployée par les outils et d’aiguiller les acteurs de la transition au sein des entreprises dans leurs choix au moment où ils décident de s’équiper d’une solution pour accélérer leur stratégie climatique.

L'ABC rappelle enfin que "toute personne ou solution vous proposant un “Bilan Carbone® certifié” s’appuie sur un processus de certification qui n’existe pas." (1)

Les dessous de l’évaluation de Traace par l’ABC.

Le cadre de l’audit de conformité au Bilan Carbone®

Traace a été audité au cours des derniers mois suivant le nouveau référentiel d’évaluation de l’ABC pour les outils de comptabilité carbone.

L’audit réalisé par l’ABC s’est basé sur quatre piliers, trois historiques de la démarche Bilan Carbone Conformet un nouveau :

  • Le cadre technique et méthodologique déployé par la solution.
  • l’accompagnement de la démarche carbone proposé par la solution.
  • La transparence de la démarche réalisée par la solution avec ses clients.
  • La communication et le positionnement de la solution.

Ce dernier nouveau critère ayant été ajouté à l’audit par l’ABC notamment afin de s’assurer que les solutions attestées conformes ne relayent pas de messages décorrélés des réels enjeux de la transition vers un modèle économique bas carbone, uniquement pour satisfaire leurs objectifs personnels.

Ainsi dans le cadre de l’évaluation, la plateforme Traace a été évaluée mais aussi notre blog, le contenu de nos présentations et de manière générale notre communication : tout a été passé au crible afin de vérifier que les messages que nous communiquons ne soient pas trompeurs.

Le déroulé de l’audit par l’ABC

Deux auditeurs ont été impliqués afin d’évaluer Traace sur ces quatre piliers. Un auditeur de l’ABC et un auditeur externe, chacun réalisant son étude suivant le même référentiel d’évaluation afin de garantir transparence, qualité et indépendance de la démarche.

Sur les différents piliers de l'évalution, les auditeurs ont notamment souligné :

  • Cadre technique et méthodologique : l'exhaustivité de la comptabilité carbone, la promotion de l’approche physique, l'exhaustivités des GES pris en compte ainsi que la capacité à quantifier les actions de réduction carbone.
  • Accompagnement : la capacité a faire monter en compétence les interlocuteurs et à sensibiliser les parties prenantes de l'organisation.
  • Transparence de la démarche : la qualité de la documentation sur la méthodologie suivie, du guide utilisateur détaillé ainsi que de la visibilité fournies sur les facteurs d’émissions utilisés.
  • Communication et positionnement : la conformité des messages de Traace par rapport à ceux portés par l’ABC et par l’ADEME, notamment sur les sujets de la neutralité et de la contribution carbone.

Durant l'audit, les équipes Traace ont pris en compte les retours de l'ABC pour rendre encore plus pertinent la solution et l'accompagnement proposé à nos clients. L'audit a notamment été l'opportunité d'enrichir encore notre documentation et les éléments de sensibilisation et de formation que nous partageons durant nos présentations.

L'excellente note obtenu a enfin permis d'attester de la conformité de Traace au standard de l’ABC et la méthodologie Bilan Carbone.

L’exercice a été particulièrement apprécié par les équipes Traace. Il a été l’occasion de se remettre en question, de porter un regard objectif sur nos points forts et nos points d'amélioration, et surtout de viser une méthodologie et une approche toujours plus exigeante, à la hauteur des enjeux climatiques auxquels nous nous attaquons au côtés de nos clients.

Conclusion - Pourquoi cette attestation par l’ABC était importante pour Traace ?

Depuis son lancement en 2020, Traace s’applique à équiper technologiquement les organisations pour accélérer leur transition vers un modèle bas carbone.

Cette mission qui anime les équipes Traace est la matérialisation des convictions profondes qui animent les membres de l’équipe et les clients qui nous rejoignent : s’attaquer à la décarbonation de notre économie nécessite sérieux, rigueur et transparence.

Une certification n'a de sens que si elle est délivrée par un tiers indépendant sans conflit d'intérêts. Une certification où l'auditeur et le consultant font partie de la même entité n'a aucune valeur. Voilà pourquoi Traace a préféré consacrer son énergie à être audité par l’ABC plutôt que de lancer sa propre certification interne comme le font certains acteurs de notre marché, ce qui s’apparente plus à du greenwashing qu’à une quelconque démarche sérieuse.

Pour nos clients, choisir un outil évalué par l’ABC comme conforme à la méthodologie Bilan Carbone®, c’est l’assurance d’obtenir une comptabilité carbone rigoureuse et activable, un accompagnement pointu et pertinent sur les sujets liés aux émissions carbone et de manière générale une expertise au moins équivalente au standard qu’est la méthode Bilan Carbone®.


-> En savoir plus sur la plateforme Traace et nos différents modules de mesure, d'analyse et de planification des actions de décarbonation : cliquez-ici !


Sources

- (1) https://abc-transitionbascarbone.fr/tout-savoir-sur-le-bilan-carbone-la-mise-au-point-complete-de-lassociation-pour-la-transition-bas-carbone/
- https://abc-transitionbascarbone.fr/tribune-non-un-bilan-carbone-realise-en-quelques-clics-nexiste-pas/

Sur la même thématique

Parlons de vos enjeux de décarbonation

Demander une démo