Climate change: what impact on real estate?

Climate change: what impact on real estate?

Rising temperatures, droughts, rising sea levels... What will real estate in France look like in 2050?

Astrid Serre

Astrid Serre

Climate consultant

Update :
7/2/2024
Publication:
18/4/2022

Rising average temperatures in France, rising sea levels, recurrent droughts... The effects of climate change in France are already undeniable. Météo France, which has studied the effects in France, predicts a disparate evolution depending on the region: some areas are likely to be very strongly impacted, while others can hope to remain relatively unaffected by the effects of climate change. What are the consequences for the attractiveness of French regions? Will a property in a region with high heat waves lose value? Are seaside properties at risk from rising sea levels?

To answer these questions, and to find out how to prepare for these risks, a review of the impacts of climate change on real estate in France.

1. Temperature rises: consequences for living comfort

Rising temperatures and thermal discomfort

The rise in temperatures in France is characterised by several phenomena: the rise in average annual temperatures throughout the country (from +1.6°C to 3°C by 2050 (AFP, 2021)), the increase in the number of heatwave days, the lengthening and increase in intensity of heatwaves... All of these phenomena increase thermal discomfort within the home. Remember the scorching nights, when, after a day of intense heat, it is impossible to close your eyes because of the muggy heat in the air... Now imagine that these days occur two or three times more often per year. It's unenviable, isn't it?

Days above temperature floors

Which regions are most affected?

During the last heatwave in 2019, it was Occitania and Provence-Alpes Côte d'Azur that experienced the highest temperatures, while Brittany and Hauts-de-France were favoured by summer tourists that year (L'Express, 2019). These phenomena will continue to affect France very unevenly, and the AFP has created a simulator where you can find out the effects of weather changes in your commune, available here: Tomorrow, what climate on my doorstep?

Impacts on real estate and tourism

Although the property market has not yet shown any change directly linked to these phenomena, it can be seen that over the period 2015-2019, the increase in tourist numbers was almost twice as high in the cooler departments (Seine Maritime, Manche: +9.6% on average) than in the departments most affected by heat waves (Hérault, Gard: +4.5% on average) (INSEE, 2022). The two heatwave episodes of 2017 and 2019 could explain this preference, with in particular the peak temperatures in 2019 which peaked at 46°C in Hérault.

Cities, the front lines of global warming 

Cities will be particularly affected, as they form heat islands that amplify heat wave phenomena and make it difficult for temperatures to fall (due to the lack of greenery, the profusion of concrete areas, etc.). In Paris, we could have three times as many hot nights in 2050 as we are used to, i.e. 20 nights per year (AFP, 2021). In Marseille, we could have six times as many extremely hot days; and in Brest, twice as many abnormally hot days.

Mapping of temperature trends :

Heating scenarios, AFP

2. Increased risk of drought and weakening of buildings 

In January 2022, Covéa, the leading French insurer (owner of the MAAF, GMA and GMF brands) revealed in its white paper on climate change that there will be an inevitable increase in risks to buildings due to droughts caused by climate change in France. Indeed, Covéa reports that there has already been a marked increase in drought-related claims, which is expected to continue to rise by more than 60% by 2050 in France. What are the links between drought and the weakening of buildings?

The risk of drought, which for the built environment takes the form of the insurance risk of "shrinkage-swelling of clays", is a phenomenon that weakens the soil on which buildings are built when this soil experiences episodes of drought. This phenomenon, linked to variations in the volume of the soil, leads to differential settling causing damage to buildings. Since 2016, the recurrence of intense drought episodes and the damage caused have increased. Between 1989 and 2020, the costs related to the effects of drought amounted to almost 15.2 billion euros.

The analysis made by Covéa (see map below) suggests that the Massif Central could experience an intense aggravation of drought damage.

Risk mapping:

Risk evolution

3. Rising sea levels, a threat to the French coast

Another effect of climate change is the rise in water levels, which threatens all areas along the coast. What about France, with its 5,500 km of coastline? Is rising sea levels a cause for concern? Can it pose a risk to real estate?

According to Callendar's analysis, exposure to the risk of coastal erosion due to rising sea levels is largely underestimated. Indeed, 15,000 real estate transactions concluded between 2016 and 2021 involved properties that would become flood-prone before 2050. The total value of these properties at the time of purchase was estimated at €5 billion, a value that did not take into account exposure to the risk. 

This global rise is already real: since the beginning of the 20th century, a rise of 20 centimetres has been observed, which is faster than anything observed in the last 3,000 years. Callendar points out that the mouth of the Seine and the Atlantic coast are the most exposed, with cities such as Le Havre, for which the value of property at risk by 2050 would be more than 1,000 million euros, and Bordeaux, Deauville and Caen.

Another important point of the study is that while these risks are already present by 2050, they will increase by the end of the century. According to the different scenarios analysed, i.e. depending on the speed at which the Antarctic ice melts and the quantity of greenhouse gases emitted during the century, the number of properties at risk could be multiplied by 10 by 2100.

Flooding exhibition

The firm also offers a simulation tool to find out if a property is located in a flood risk zone, which you can find here: http: //submersion.climint.com/   

Mapping the risks of rising water:

Real Estate value exposure

4. Loss of property value due to climatic risks

Is your home at high risk from climate change? Is your property likely to lose value by 2050? Knowing that first-time homeowners (owners who still have loans to repay for the purchase of their main residence) live in their homes for an average of 27 years (INSEE, 2017), the transactions that are made today are already affected by the changes to come by 2050... i.e. in 28 years.

The evolution of the attractiveness of properties

There are a number of factors to be taken into account when assessing the potential loss of value. Callendar's analysis of transactions over the past 5 years suggests that climate risk is currently largely underestimated in the property market. Some property investors or developers are proposing to upgrade their buildings to avoid "climate obsolescence", i.e. adapting buildings to protect against the effects of climate change. This resilience could then take the form of improved temperature and humidity management indoors, or additional protection of pipes against flood damage... But it does not protect against the other inconveniences of a city affected by these extreme phenomena: is it always pleasant to live in a city that experiences more than 10 days a year above 35 degrees, like Toulouse? Where the number of hot nights reaches 19 per year, like Grenoble? Today, no study shows that property prices are changing in this direction, but their attractiveness could change by the middle of the century.

The risk of uninsurability of goods 

Alongside the risk to attractiveness is the problem of the insurability of property. In fact, in areas that are increasingly exposed to risks, with significant material and financial damage, insurers could decide to no longer cover certain claims, or the prices would become so high that they could be prohibitive for owners. Already, in some overseas regions, several insurers have withdrawn because the risks are considered too high, and even where insurance is still available, the segmentation of rates is such that insurance becomes economically unaffordable (L'Argus de l'Assurance, 2019).

Access to information on these risks

The main consequence that will affect property owners from next year onwards, with the entry into force of a new law on information on coastal erosion risks. In France, from 2023 onwards, tenants and purchasers will have to be informed of the risks of coastal erosion within a century as soon as the advertisement is published. In addition, owners will have to make provision for the costs of destruction and restoration.

This law, which is part of the Climate Law, aims to promote the knowledge of buyers and tenants about the risks to which the property they are interested in will be exposed, in the knowledge of expected developments due to climate change. There is therefore a real risk for all properties that have been acquired recently, in ignorance of the risks to which they are exposed, and which could then lose value on the property market once these risks are known. 

According to Callendar, in the 78 communes in France where properties that will become at risk before 2050 account for more than 5% of transactions, the local property market is likely to be greatly impacted by the communication of this new information.

Conclusion

Is your property at risk of losing value?

It all depends on its exposure to the specific risks associated with climate change, including rising sea levels, rising temperatures and increased drought. Different geographical areas will be impacted differently by the different effects of climate change: the north-western and western coasts of France will be at the forefront of sea level rise, while the south, east and major cities will be more exposed to temperature increases. 

You can consult the tools developed by Callendar andAgence France Presse to estimate the risk according to your geographical position.

When might the property lose value?

In the case of rising water levels, the Climate Act may well reveal as early as 2023 that some properties are overvalued in relation to their exposure to risk. In the case of rising temperatures and drought, there are no studies to date that indicate a potential risk of loss of value, although there are weak signals that recurrent heatwaves are increasing the attractiveness of regions that are spared from high temperatures. 

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Annex: The dictionary of climatic phenomena

  • Abnormally hot days: when the daytime temperature is 5°C or more above normal.
  • heat wave: when more than five consecutive days are abnormally hot.
  • extremely hot days: when the temperature is above 35°C
  • heatwave: a heatwave is a phenomenon of great heat, but its definition is not universal. Indeed, each region has its own characteristics to define a heat wave. For example, for metropolitan France: Paris heatwave if at least 31 °C during the day and 21 °C at night; Marseille heatwave if at least 36 °C during the day and 24 °C at night.
  • hot night: a night when the temperature does not fall below 20°C, preventing the human body from resting properly.
  • heat islands: a phenomenon of localised temperature increase in urban areas compared to neighbouring rural areas. These heat islands are artificial microclimates caused by human activities (power plants, heat exchangers, etc.) and urban planning (dark surfaces that absorb heat, such as tar).
  • shrinkage-swelling of clays (RGA): a phenomenon linked to variations in soil volume, which leads to differential settlements causing damage to buildings
  • coastal erosion: thegradual loss of material that causes the coast to retreat and the beaches to recede.
  • flooding: temporary inundation of the coastal zone by the sea which occurs in an extreme manner under the effect of severe meteorological (wind, depression) and oceanographic (strong swell, tide) conditions.

Bibliography

On the same topic
Let's talk about your decarbonisation challenges
Request a demo

Changement climatique : quel impact sur l'immobilier ?

Changement climatique : quel impact sur l'immobilier ?

Hausse des températures, sécheresses, montée des eaux... A quoi ressemblera l'immobilier en France en 2050 ?

18/4/2022
Sommaire

Augmentation des températures moyennes en France, montée du niveau de la mer, épisodes récurrents de sécheresse… Les effets du changement climatique en France sont déjà indiscutables. Météo France, qui s’est intéressée aux effets dans l’Hexagone, prévoit une évolution disparate selon les régions : certaines zones risquent d’être très fortement impactées, tandis que d’autres peuvent espérer rester relativement épargnées des effets du changement climatique. Quelles conséquences sur l’attractivité des régions françaises ? Est-ce qu’un bien immobilier dans une région aux fortes canicules va perdre de la valeur ? Les biens immobiliers de bord de mer sont-ils exposés au risque de la montée des eaux ?

Pour répondre à ces questions, et savoir comment se préparer face à ces risques, un tour d’horizon des impacts du changement climatique sur l’immobilier en France.

1. Hausses de températures : des conséquences sur le confort de vie

Augmentation des températures et inconfort thermique

La hausse des températures en France se caractérise par plusieurs phénomènes : la hausse des températures moyennes annuelles sur l’ensemble du territoire (de +1,6°C à 3 °C d’ici à 2050 (AFP, 2021)), l’augmentation du nombre de jours de canicule, l’allongement et l’augmentation de l’intensité des vagues de chaleur… Tous ces phénomènes augmentent l’inconfort thermique au sein du logement. Rappelez-vous des nuits caniculaires, où, après une journée de chaleur intense, impossible de fermer l'œil tant la chaleur moite imprègne l’air ambiant… Imaginez maintenant que ces journées surviennent deux, trois fois plus souvent par an. C’est peu enviable, non ?

Days above temperature floors

Quelles sont les régions les plus touchées ?

Lors de la dernière canicule de 2019, ce sont l’Occitanie et la Provence-Alpes Côte d’Azur qui ont connu les températures les plus élevées, tandis que la Bretagne et les Hauts-de-France avaient cette année-là gagné les faveurs des touristes estivaux (L’Express, 2019). Ces phénomènes vont continuer à toucher très inégalement la France, et l’AFP a créé un simulateur où vous pouvez connaître les effets des évolutions météorologiques dans votre commune, disponible ici : Demain, quel climat sur le pas de ma porte ? 

Impacts sur l’immobilier et le tourisme

Si le marché de l’immobilier n’a pas encore montré d’évolution directement lié à ces phénomènes, on observe que sur la période 2015-2019, l’augmentation de la fréquentation des touristes à été presque deux fois plus importante dans les départements plus frais (Seine Maritime, Manche : +9,6% en moyenne) que dans les départements les plus touchés par les vagues de chaleur (Hérault, Gard : +4,5% en moyenne) (INSEE, 2022). Les deux épisodes de canicule de 2017 et 2019 pourraient expliquer cette préférence, avec notamment les pics de températures en 2019 qui ont culminé à 46°C dans l’Hérault.

Les villes, premières lignes du réchauffement 

Les villes seront particulièrement touchées, car elles forment des îlots de chaleur qui amplifient les phénomènes de vague de chaleur et rendent difficiles les retombées des températures (du fait du manque de verdure, de la profusion des espaces bétonnés…). À Paris, on pourrait avoir en 2050 trois fois plus de nuits caniculaires que ce à quoi on était habitués, soit 20 nuits par an (AFP, 2021). À Marseille, on pourrait connaître 6 fois plus de jours extrêmement chauds ; et à Brest 2 fois plus de jours anormalement chauds.

Cartographie de l’évolution des températures :

Heating scenarios, AFP

2. Augmentation du risque de sécheresse et fragilisation des bâtiments 

En janvier 2022, Covéa, premier assureur français (propriétaire des marques MAAF, GMA, GMF) a révélé dans son livre blanc sur le changement climatique une augmentation inévitable des risques pour les bâtiments du fait des sécheresses causées par les évolutions climatique en France. En effet, Covéa fait état d’une progression déjà marquée des sinistres liés aux sécheresses, qui devrait se poursuivre pour augmenter de plus de 60% à l’horizon 2050 en France. Quels liens entre sécheresse et fragilisation des bâtiments ?

Le risque de sécheresse, qui se matérialise pour le bâti par le risque assurantiel de “retrait-gonflement des argiles” est un phénomène qui fragilise le sol sur lequel repose des bâtiments lorsque ce sol connaît des épisodes de sécheresse. Ce phénomène, lié aux variations de volume du sol, induit des tassements différentiels provoquant des dommages aux constructions. Depuis 2016, la récurrence des épisodes de sécheresse intense et les dommages engendrés ont augmenté. Entre 1989 et 2020, les coûts liés aux effets de la sécheresse s'élevaient à près de 15,2 milliards d’euros.

L’analyse faite par Covéa (voir cartographie ci-dessous) suggère que le Massif Central pourrait connaître une aggravation intense des dommages dûs aux sécheresses.

Cartographie des risques :

Risk evolution

3. Montée des eaux, une menace pour les côtes françaises

Autre effet du changement climatique, la montée des eaux, qui menace tous les espaces en bord de mer. Qu’en est-il de la France, avec ses 5500 km de côtes ? La montée des eaux est-elle un phénomène préoccupant ? Peut-elle présenter des risques pour les biens immobiliers ?

D’après l’analyse du cabinet Callendar, l’exposition au risque d’érosion côtière liée à la montée des eaux est largement sous-estimée. En effet, 15 000 transactions immobilières conclues entre 2016 et 2021 portaient sur des biens qui deviendraient inondables avant 2050. La valeur totale de ces biens au moment de l’acquisition était estimée à 5 milliards d’euros, une valeur qui ne tenait pas compte de l’exposition au risque. 

Cette élévation globale est déjà réelle : depuis le début du XXème siècle, on a observé une hausse de 20 centimètres, soit une élévation plus rapide que tout ce qui a été déjà observé depuis plus de 3 000 ans. Callendar précise que l’embouchure de la Seine et la Côte Atlantique sont les plus exposées, avec des villes comme le Havre, pour lequel la valeur des biens devenant à risque d’ici 2050 serait supérieure à 1000 millions d’euros ; ou encore Bordeaux, Deauville et Caen.

Autre point important de l’étude : si à l’horizon 2050 ces risques sont déjà bel et bien présents, ils vont s'accentuer d’ici la fin du siècle. Selon les différents scénarios analysés, soit selon la vitesse de la fonte des glaces de l’Antarctique et la quantité de gaz à effet de serre qui seront émis dans le siècle, le nombre de biens exposés pourrait être multiplié par 10 d’ici 2100.

Flooding exposition

Le cabinet propose également un outil de simulation pour savoir si un bien se situe dans une zone exposée au risque d’inondation, que vous pouvez retrouver ici : http://submersion.climint.com/   

Cartographie des risques liés à la montée des eaux :

Real Estate value exposition

4. Perte de valeur des biens immobilier du fait des risques climatiques

Votre logement est-il exposé à de forts risques du fait du changement climatique ? Votre bien risque-t-il de perdre de la valeur d’ici 2050 ? En sachant que les propriétaires accédants (propriétaires qui ont encore des emprunts à rembourser pour l’achat de leur résidence principale) habitent leurs logements pendant 27 ans en moyenne (INSEE, 2017), les transactions qui sont faites aujourd’hui sont déjà concernées par les évolutions à venir d’ici 2050… Soit dans 28 ans.

L’évolution de l’attractivité des biens

Plusieurs éléments sont à prendre en compte dans l’évaluation de la perte de valeur potentielle. L’analyse du cabinet Callendar sur les transactions des 5 années passées laisse entendre que le risque climatique est assez largement sous-estimé pour l’instant sur le marché immobilier.  Certains investisseurs immobiliers ou promoteurs proposent de faire évoluer leurs bâtiments pour leur éviter “l’obsolescence climatique”, c'est-à-dire en adaptant les bâtiments pour se prémunir des effets du changement climatique. Cette résilience pourrait alors prendre la forme d’une amélioration de la gestion de la température et de l’humidité en intérieur, ou encore d’une protection supplémentaire des canalisations contre les dégâts causés par les inondations… Mais ne permet pas de se prémunir contre les autres désagréments d’une ville touchée par ces phénomènes extrêmes : est-ce toujours agréable de vivre dans une ville qui connaît plus de 10 jours par an au-dessus de 35 degrés, comme Toulouse ? Où le nombre de nuits caniculaires atteint les 19 par an, comme Grenoble ? Aujourd’hui, aucune étude ne témoigne d’évolution des prix de l’immobilier dans ce sens, mais leur attractivité pourrait être amenée à changer d’ici le milieu du siècle.

Le risque de non-assurabilité des biens 

En parallèle du risque posé sur l’attractivité se pose le problème de l’assurabilité des biens immobiliers. En effet, dans les zones de plus en plus exposées aux risques, avec des dommages matériels et financiers importants, les assureurs pourraient décider de ne plus couvrir certains sinistres, ou alors les prix deviendraient tellement élevés qu’ils pourraient être rédhibitoires pour les propriétaires. On constate déjà dans certaines régions d’outre-mer que plusieurs assureurs se sont retirés du fait de risques jugés trop élevés et, même là où des assurances demeurent disponibles, la segmentation des tarifs est telle que l’assurance devient alors économiquement inaccessible (L’Argus de l’Assurance, 2019).

L’accès à l’information sur ces risques

La principale conséquence qui va toucher les propriétaires dès l’année prochaine, avec l’entrée en vigueur d’une nouvelle loi sur l’information sur les risques d’érosion côtière. En France, à partir de 2023, les locataires et les acquéreurs devront être informés des risques d’érosion côtière à l’horizon d’un siècle dès la publication de l’annonce. En complément, les propriétaires devront provisionner les coûts de destruction et de remise en état.

Cette loi, qui fait partie de la loi Climat, vise à favoriser la connaissance des acquéreurs et locataires sur les risques auxquels seront exposés les biens qui les intéressent, en connaissance des évolutions prévues compte-tenu du changement climatique. Il existe alors un risque réel pour tous les biens qui ont été acquis récemment, dans l’ignorance des risques auxquels ils sont exposés, et qui pourraient alors perdre de la valeur sur le marché immobilier une fois que ces risques seront connus. 

D’après Callendar, dans les 78 communes en France où les biens qui vont devenir à risque avant 2050 représentent plus de 5% des transactions, le marché immobilier local risque d’être très impacté par la communication de ces nouvelles informations.

Conclusion

Votre bien risque-t-il de perdre en valeur ?

Tout dépend de son exposition aux risques spécifiques liés aux changements climatiques, parmi lesquels la montée des eaux, la hausse des température et l’augmentation des phénomènes de sécheresse. Les différentes zones géographiques ne seront pas impactées de la même manière par les différents effets du changement climatique : la côte Nord-Ouest et la côte Ouest de la France seront en première ligne face à la hausse du niveau de la mer, tandis que le Sud, l’Est et les grandes villes seront plus exposés aux phénomènes de hausses des températures. 

Vous pouvez à cet effet consulter les outils développés par Callendar et l’Agence France Presse pour estimer le risque selon votre position géographique.

À quelle échéance le bien pourrait-il perdre de la valeur ?

Dans le cas de la montée des eaux, la loi Climat pourrait bien révéler dès 2023 que la valeur de certaines propriétés est sur-évaluée au regard de leur exposition au risque. Pour les hausses des températures et de la sécheresse, il n’y a pas d’étude à ce jour qui fait état d’un risque potentiel de perte de valeur, même si des signaux faibles laissent entendre que les canicules à répétition augmentent l’attractivité des régions plus épargnées par les fortes chaleur. 

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Annexe : Le dico des phénomènes climatiques

  • jours anormalement chauds : lorsque la température du jour est supérieure de 5°C ou plus à la normale.
  • vague de chaleur : lorsque plus de cinq jours consécutifs sont anormalement chauds.
  • jours extrêmement chauds : lorsque la température est supérieure à 35°C
  • canicule : la canicule est un phénomène de grande chaleur, mais dont la définition n’est pas universelle. En effet, chaque région a ses caractéristiques propres pour définir une canicule. Par exemple, pour la France métropolitaine : Paris chaleur caniculaire si au moins 31 °C le jour et 21 °C la nuit ; Marseille chaleur caniculaire si au moins 36 °C le jour et 24 °C la nuit.
  • nuit caniculaire : nuit où la température ne redescend pas sous les 20°C, empêchant le corps humain de se reposer correctement.
  • îlots de chaleur : phénomène d'élévation de température localisé en milieu urbain par rapport aux zones rurales voisines. Ces îlots thermiques sont des microclimats artificiels provoqués par les activités humaines (centrales énergétiques, échangeurs de chaleur...) et l'urbanisme (surfaces sombres qui absorbent la chaleur, comme le goudron).
  • retrait-gonflement des argiles (RGA) : phénomène, lié aux variations de volume du sol, induit des tassements différentiels provoquant des dommages aux constructions
  • érosion côtière : perte graduelle de matériaux qui entraîne le recul de la côte et l’abaissement des plages.
  • submersion : inondation temporaire de la zone côtière par la mer qui se manifeste de manière extrême sous l'effet de conditions météorologiques (vent, dépression) et océanographiques (forte houle, marée) sévères.

Bibliographie

Dernières actualités

Marquez l’histoire sans laisser de traces.